I believe in the power of hope and effort.

I believe that the two go together. When there is hope, there is motivation to put effort into goals. When there is effort, hopes become realities.

I believe that effort is effective in times of difficulty. This requires hope in effort.

In school, I had a lot of difficulty learning. Time and time again, I redid assignments. My parents and teachers saw this as a problem because it was a waste of time and stressing me out. Although they were right, I didn’t mind taking a lot of extra time to complete everything. In the end, they resulted in good grades. So my effort gave me hope. My hope inspired effort.

In high school, I hoped to become a music journalist. Every month, I wrote a new album review or a school-related feature piece. By setting deadlines for myself and spending time after school to meet them, I became a better writer, more excited to branch out to different topics and styles. Instead of my hope to become a music journalist, I hoped to just keep writing and get pieces published. I hoped to eventually turn it into a career.

The effort in writing and hope to get pieces published inspired greater hope and effort in college. The hope and effort showed love, passion…the feeling that I couldn’t live without it. So my hope changed. Instead of hoping to pursue writing as a career, I hoped to inspire people.

After college, I went through depression. Writing became harder. Effort became more strenuous. Hope dimmed. But the past writing existed, affecting my emotions. By slowly writing about my emotions, I felt more sanity. That sanity led to hope, which led to effort. And once again, the effort helped me succeed. Over time, I gained the courage to spend money for the publication of my first book.

After getting my book published, I received positive feedback. People could relate to it. Some people were inspired by it. That made me feel better than writing for my own sanity. I was helping others find hope, peace, effort.

Now, my hope is to save lives through writing.

