As I walked under the hot summer sun this morning, I smelled the fruity fragrance of the sunscreen that I put on my face.

Being fair-skinned, I burn really easily and quickly without it. I turn, like, fire hydrant red after about 5 minutes.

SPF 30 is not going to be effective, I thought to myself. I should have at least put on SPF 50.

I started obsessing over this, hoping I wouldn’t get sunburned.

About 10 minutes into my walk, I was almost at the top of the hill, closer to the sun–7 minutes walking distance from Dollar Tree. I remembered seeing SPF 50 sunscreen there.

Should I walk to Dollar Tree? I wondered.

After 5 minutes of pondering the question, I looked at the time on my phone. 11:15. No time. Mom will be home in 15 minutes to take me out for lunch.

So I walked down the hill, farther away from the sun.

On the way home, I listened to music from my phone. It was a good distraction from thinking about sunscreen and sunburns.

When I got home, I looked at my face in the bathroom mirror. There it was. The sunburn covering my cheeks and forehead.

I should have bought SPF 50 sunscreen.

http://dailyposts.wordpress.com/prompts/burn/

